Background of the health ministry in Fort-Portal Catholic Diocese

The health ministry is a key ministry of in Fort Portal diocese. The office takes care of the health needs of the entire population within the geographical coverage of Fort-portal diocese and also benefits some population in the neighboring areas of Kasese, Hoima, Mbarara and Kiyinda Mityana dioceses; in a way, complementing government efforts and other development partners. According to 2021 population estimates, Fort portal diocese has a population of  about 2.8 million people and 1.5m out which are catholics. The diocese has 14 health facilities distributed over the land. Among these, one is a general hospital, three health centre IVs, Eight health centre IIIs and Two centre IIs. The facilities serve all people irrespective of tribe, religion and color. Other than activities in institutional facilities, the Minisrty also takes care of the general public health concerns. The diocese covers the following districts/City: Kabarole, Kyenjojo, Kamwenge, Kyegegwa, Bundibugyo, Ntoroko, Bunyangabu and Kitagwenda and Fort Portal City.

The Health Commission has the following Thematic Areas

Thematic Areas

  • Disease Prevention
  • Water and sanitation
  • Environment conservation
  • Waste management
  • Support supervision of health facilities
  • Training of health workers
  • Food and nutrition
  • Humanitarian crises
  • Relief managemenT


  1. Holy Family, Virika Hospital            P.O. Box 233, Fort Portal
  2. St. Joseph’s, Yerya Health Centre II    P.O. Box 46, Kibiito
  3. Kyakatara Health Centre III    P.O. Box 443, Fort Portal
  4. Adolf, Butiiti Health III       P.O. Box 214, Fort Portal
  5. Martin, Mabira Health Centre II    P.O. Box 214, Fort Portal
  6. Theresa, Wekomiire Health Centre III     P.O. Box 2, Kyegegwa
  7. Padre Pio, Kamwenge Health Centre III     P.O. Box 214, Fort Portal
  8. Villa Maria, Kaihura Health Centre III    P. O. Box 1204, Mukunyu, Fort Portal
  9. Nkuruba Health Centre III       P.O. Box 370, Fort Portal
  10. St.Therese of Lisieux, Rwibaale Health Unit  P.O. Box 1098, Kyenjojo
  11. Busaru Health Centre IV       P.O. Box 1131, Bundibugyo
  12. Stella Maris Ntoroko Health Centre III   P.O. Box 568, Fort Portal
  13. Kyembogo Holy Cross Health Centre III  P.O. Box 372, Fort Portal
  14. Kicwamba Health Centre III Kicwamba Parish    P.O. Box 195, Ibanda
  15. Virika Pharmaceuticals Store      P.O. Box 563, Fort Portal Tel: 0483-4-22229
WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
Our Communication Office is here to answer your questions. Ask us anything!
Hi, how can I help?